Arizona Universities Library Consortium

Consortial Abbreviation: 
Brief Description: 

The Arizona Universities Library Consortium (AULC) is a state consortium serving the public university libraries within Arizona: Arizona State University (Tempe), Northern Arizona University (Flagstaff), and the University of Arizona (Tucson). It is a project based entity whereby committess are formed among libraries' staff as needs arise. 

The mission of the Arizona Universities Library Consortium is to enhance the availability of and access to research resources in the state universities. Since it is viewed in the context of rising costs of library materials, changing patterns of research, and evolving methods of gaining access to information through technological advances, interests in this area extend broadly from cooperative collection development and scholarly communication efforts, support of interlibrary access and services and preservation initiatives to participation in state and national networks and multi-type library programs.

The Collection Development Electronic Resources Sharing Committee, through shared purchase agreements, increases the availability of electronic resources for the university communities, reduces the overall cost of electronic resources, and creates a process and structure for decision making among the three universities.


Principal Consortial Functions: 
Collections sharing
Electronic content licensing
Interlibrary loan/document delivery
Other Functions: 
Presents seminars and workshops to university faculty and staff on selected topics.
Mailing Address: 
Arizona State University PO Box 871006 Tempe, AZ 85287-1006
United States
Number of Member Libraries (full or core members): 
Types of Member Libraries: 
Number of Staff: