Skip to main content

Lebanese Academic Library Consortium

In January 2002, the libraries of four private academic institutions (American University of Beirut, the Lebanese American University, Notre-Dame University and the University of Balamand) established the Lebanese Academic Library Consortium (LALC), the first library consortium in Lebanon. Beginning with five members in 2002, LALC has grown into seven members in 2008 (University Saint-Esprit de Kaslik and? University Saint-Joseph) to end up with nine members in 2011 (Beirut Arab University and Haigazian University) participating in one or more databases.

LALC members’ mission is “to cooperate in the selection, pricing negotiations and access methods of electronic resources” for the best interests of the Universities and their library users.

Member participation in LALC databases is voluntary, and each member library is responsible for paying its own invoices. LALC is composed of one representative from each institution, and they meet periodically throughout the year to take necessary decisions in compliance with their mission.

Principal Consortial Functions
Electronic content licensing