Malaysian Online E-Resources Consortium

Malaysian Online E-Resources Consortium (MOLEC) previously known as the Subcommittee on Commercial Databases was established in 2000 under the National Digital Library System (PERDANA). The Subcommittee was then renamed Databases Committee in 2007 and in 2010 was upgraded to Malaysian Online E-Resources Consortium (MOLEC). The current members are the National Library of Malaysia, Malaysian Citation Centre, 20 Public University Libraries, 5 GLC university libraries, 7 governmental agency libraries, bringing the total number of members to 34.

The objectives of MOLEC are to:
- develop policies on acquisition and subscription of electronic resources, based on the current government rules and regulations
- negotiate on subscription and purchasing of electronic resources with vendors and publishers
- optimize resource sharing among members

Principal Consortial Functions
Collections sharing
Electronic content licensing
Interlibrary loan/document delivery
Union lists/shared online catalogs