National center for scientific research

As the largest fundamental research organization in Europe, CNRS carried out research in all fields of knowledge, through its seven institutes:

  • Institute of Biological Sciences (INSB)
  • Institute of Chemistry (INC)
  • Institute of Ecology and Environment (INEE)
  • Institute for Humanities and Social Sciences (INSHS)
  • Institute for Information Sciences and Technologies (INS2I)
  • Institute for Engineering and Systems Sciences (INSIS)
  • Institute of Physics (INP)

and three national institutes:

  • National Institute for Mathematical Sciences (INSMI)
  • National Institute of Nuclear and Particle Physics (IN2P3)
  • National Institute for Earth Sciences and Astronomy (INSU

 Like INSERM, INRA, CEA and Institut Pasteur , CNRS isn't member of COUPERIN consortium but deals with Couperin to negociate electronic licenses.

CNRS's annual budget represents a quarter of French public spending on civilian research. Government and public funding.

CNRS has 1200 labs in France: 93% are joint labs, partnered with universities, other research organizations, or industry (called UMR, or unités mixtes de recherche, in French); 34 000  people working in: 11 500 researchers, 28 500 annual publications

Six portals to acceed to electronic resources, managed by INIST, a CNRS lab dedicated to Scientific and Technical Information :


Principal Consortial Functions
Electronic content licensing